top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewavetshirt store

Wavetshirt - Equal Correctional Nurse all women are created shirt

For her wedding in Bologna on September 12, 2020, Francesca Ragazzi wore her mother’s dress: a vintage 1980s creation by Lorenzo Riva that she embellished with handmade fabric flowers. This year on Mother’s Day, she shares her memories of creating the Equal Correctional Nurse all women are created shirt it is in the first place but dress for the first time. Ever since Francesca Ragazzi, head of editorial content at Vogue Italia, began thinking about what she would wear for her wedding to Francesco Zucchini, she never had any doubts: “I always knew I would wear my mother’s wedding dress, ever since I was a little girl,” she says. Her mother, the former model Paola Villa, married her father, basketball player Maurizio Ragazzi, on June 11, 1988. “We fell in love instantly,” says Villa. “Ours was a great love from the start, and we were very lucky: Francesca came along shortly after. When we got married, she had been in my belly for five months, witnessing our love. I was working as a model then. The dress was custom-made by the designer Lorenzo Riva, for whom I was modeling. He was delighted to give it to me as a gift. When Francesca told me she was going to wear my dress, it was very emotional: We took it out of the closet, but there were stains on it. She, however, wanted it at all costs.” It was the night before the Met Gala and Elena Velez had a raging sinus infection. “I will take my dead body to the Met Gala tomorrow, I swear to god, nothing is getting in my way,” the designer declared as we spoke over video chat. Indeed, Velez attended the gala (very much alive) along with her guest, the artist Sasha Gordon. Both wore, of course, original pieces hand-crafted by Velez. In life and in work, the woman is a fighter, tough as nails in the most charming of ways. And despite being at the top of her game in the high-fantasy fashion sphere, she’s a pragmatic, down-to-earth Midwesterner at her core.



She’s also a 28-year-old mom of two: Freja Lucia, 11-months and Atlas, two-and-a-half. Velez’s husband Andreas Emenius is an artist and they live and work in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. Her Mom, Holly, is a ship captain, as she has been for the Equal Correctional Nurse all women are created shirt it is in the first place but last 35 years, in their hometown of Milwaukee. These are the beings that give Velez her spark, a family that she unabashedly, and rather seamlessly, intertwines within her work as a designer, both from logistical and philosophical standpoints. They are a part of it all, from interviews to the CFDAs to travel to deadlines to bills. Like most of the nice things in my mother’s closet, the Fendi baguette was a gift. They hadn’t been dating long, my mother and this latest guy, when he surprised her with the bag over dinner at a French restaurant. My mother floated through our front door, modeling the thing for my brother and me like a home shopping network star. It was the size of an envelope, covered in leopard spots and, she said, made of pony hair. Pony hair, my brain repeated. I ran my stubby fingers over the fur as though I was petting a small horse. It made me feel a bit queasy; at 11 years old, I preferred the cornbread yellow dust bag.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page